#coaching #parenting #autism

My son is fascinated with power tools. Now he just turned seven, so on Sunday he decided to take his bed apart and proceed to show me a picture of a “loft bed closet” that he has wanted for years. It is on one of his vision boards.

I cued up youtube videos. He giggled and squealed at a few. I knew that building a bed was going to happen. At this point, I figured we needed to build something small.

With a handsaw, a drill, and an old cedar bench Ben helped me drill holes, screw in screws and watched me saw a chunk of wood. We built a town rack. Now we have a few more things to do to finish it but… It is a beginning.

Pictures to come when it is finished… Dad has the camera.

 

This is the Bed Ben wants to build. I figure Lowes will make most if not all of the cuts and between Dad, Unicorn and I we can get this thing built… We just have to figure out how to let Ben help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

